Categories
Watches

Hands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review

HomeHands-OnHands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review Hands-OnFortisHands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review A collab between Fortis and the Austrian Space Forum by Robert-Jan Broer May 14, 2020 MIN READHands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 ReviewI must confess, it has been a while since I last wore a Fortis watch. Not that I don’t want to, but we have quite a large team of editors these days, and others jumped on Fortis a bit faster. After having the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 on my wrist for a few days, I’m going to make sure I’m at the front of the queue next time…
I am positively surprised by the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 reference 638.18.91. The first thing to notice is how good this watch looks on the wrist. And that specifications can be so deceiving. According to the spec sheet, the watch measures 44mm in diameter and has a lug-to-lug size of 53mm. Now, before you sigh and stop reading, hear me out.
Fortis Official Cosmonauts ..

  1. Home
  2. Hands-On
  3. Hands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review

Hands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review A collab between Fortis and the Austrian Space Forum by Robert-Jan Broer May 14, 2020 MIN READHands-On Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Review

I must confess, it has been a while since I last wore a Fortis watch. Not that I don’t want to, but we have quite a large team of editors these days, and others jumped on Fortis a bit faster. After having the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 on my wrist for a few days, I’m going to make sure I’m at the front of the queue next time…

I am positively surprised by the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 reference 638.18.91. The first thing to notice is how good this watch looks on the wrist. And that specifications can be so deceiving. According to the spec sheet, the watch measures 44mm in diameter and has a lug-to-lug size of 53mm. Now, before you sigh and stop reading, hear me out.

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18

I don’t have small wrists (18cm) but they’re not too big either, and this 44mm watch suits me perfectly. The interesting part is that the bezel measures 44mm in diameter, while the case diameter is 42mm. It is by no means a small watch, but it shouldn’t be either. This watch was meant to be worn by cosmonauts in space. The large bezel, big pushers, and crown are all easy to grasp. With a thickness of 15.5mm, this watch does sit high on the wrist. But again, it makes sense in my opinion. What’s most important is the wearing comfort, and I find that surprisingly good. It is just another example that shows you shouldn’t go blind on specifications.

Amadee-18

Although I am aware that there’s a certain partnership between the Russian space agency Roscosmos and Fortis since 2001 (and before that, back in 1994, with some Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center), I can’t find specific details on this partnership. The Fortis Official Cosmonauts Chronograph reference 638.10.11 M is the model that is being given to cosmonauts apparently. However, I had never heard of Amadee-18 before I received this watch for review. Amadee-18 was an initiative by the Austrian Space Forum, to simulate a Mars mission in the Oman desert. This took place in 2018 and they performed several tasks and experiments to simulate parts of a Mars mission.

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 Project

Together with the Austrian Space Forum, Fortis developed a variation on the Fortis Official Cosmonauts watch, for use during the Amadee-18 mission in Oman. It is a black PVD version of the “normal” Fortis Official Cosmonauts watch, but with a special Amadee-18 mission patch on the 9 o’clock subdial. The orange and red represent the sunrises and sunsets on Mars and Earth, the fine-lined pattern within the circle represents the experiment carried out in Oman. As you can see, it looks pretty cool. I love the use of orange and red on black dials. The chronograph hands of the watch have a bright orange color, which feels entirely in-sync with the mission patch.

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18

Roscosmos

On the backside of the watch, you will find the logo and wordmark of the Roscosmos State Corporation for Space Activities, known as Roscosmos. What I can’t decipher is the reference number on the case back, as it does not match the one on the Fortis website or catalog. The official reference for this watch is 638.18.91 LP.10. Perhaps I am dealing with a sample or prototype for reviews. I prefer cool engravings or embossed logos over a sapphire case back that shows the movement. Unless we are looking at something truly exclusive or Haute Horlogerie, a nice engraving or embossing speaks to me more.

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18

Caliber UW50

The chronograph movement inside the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 is caliber UW50, a Valjoux 7750 based movement. The dial probably gave that away already. This movement is also easily recognizable when you shake the watch — it only winds in one direction. The other direction results in a free spin and causes that famous Valjoux 7750 wobble. The movement ticks at 28,800vph, and has a power reserve of 48 hours. According to the Fortis website, the UW50 should be bi-directional winding. But I feel (and hear) that it only winds in one direction and has a free spin in the other direction. Either the website is wrong, or I am dealing indeed with a prototype or sample watch that has a different caliber inside (but also Valjoux 7750 based). The day and date discs are black, corresponding with the dial, and the printing is in white.

Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18

Legible Dial

Although you can say the grain-finished dial is quite cluttered, it is also very legible. During the day, but surely also in low-light conditions. We charged the dial a bit and took the picture above to demonstrate. The wealth of numbers on the dial can come across as confusing, but each has its own track and scale. There’s the tachymeter scale in the outer ring, the minute track in the center, and the hours on the inner scale. The circular finish of the sunken subdials at 12 and 6 o’clock give a little bit of contrast.

The two triangles outside the day and date aperture show which way to turn the crown in order to advance them. Pretty neat. Besides the funky colors on the dial, this is a tool watch and it doesn’t hide it. Around the dial (and crystal), there’s the uni-directional 60-minute diving scale. It can also be used to time other things, of course. The triangle on top is lumed as well.

Cordura Strap of the Amadee-18 Watch

Cordura Strap

The Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 comes on this black cordura strap. It is a bit stiffer than leather, but over time it will get more supple. It looks great with the black PVD case of the Amadee-18 chronograph. The pin buckle has an embossed Fortis logo and is made of black PVD steel. The strap connects perfectly to the case and leaves no gap or play.

Amadee-18 chronograph on the wrist

On The Wrist

Aside from some small strange things, like the winding direction of the movement that seems to be stated incorrectly on the website, or the awkward reference number on the case back, it is a pretty cool watch. It has been on my wrist for a few days now, and I must say that the size of this Fortis Official Cosmonauts Amadee-18 is indeed just a number. It wears comfortably and it just looks awesome. After reading Rob’s interview with the sympathetic Fortis CEO Jupp Philipp (click here), I became even more enthusiastic. For me, it is important that a brand is sympathetic and fueled with passion instead of Excel sheets (although in the end, everyone needs to pay for their groceries, rent, etc.).

Price and Availability

I like this watch. Period. And the Fratelli who was in the office last week (Bert, Gerard, and Jorg) also gave it a try and gave positive feedback. It doesn’t happen to me very often that I want to keep a watch. Either this one of the Fortis Official Cosmonauts Chronograph in steel is now on my list. Perhaps I just shouldn’t give it back (but yeah, I will).

The price of this Fortis Official Cosmonaut Amadee-18 is just a little bit higher than the regular Roscosmos embossed version in steel. It has a retail price of €3,300 (including VAT). More information on the official Fortis website.

Watch specifications

Brand Fortis ModelOfficial Cosmonauts Amadee-18Reference638.18.91 LP10DialMatt black, Amadee-18 patch in red/orange at 9 o'clock, orange chronograph Lollipop handCase MaterialBlack PVD coated stainless steelCase DimensionsDiameter: 44mm (bezel, case is 42mm), Thickness: 15.5mm, lug-to-lug: 53mm, lug width: 20mmCrystalSapphire crystal with (double) anti-reflective coatingCase BackSteel with special engravingMovementCaliber UW50, ETA7750 base self-winding chronograph, jewels: 25, ticking Speed: 28800vph, power reserve: 48 hoursWater Resistance200 meters / 20 barStrapCordura with a black PVD coated steel buckleFunctionsTime, Date, Day, Chronograph, 60-minute scale bezelPrice€3300,-WarrantyTwo years of international warranty Watch of the Week

What Makes The Bvlgari Octo Finissimo In Steel So Great

And why I prefer it over a Royal Oak 15202 by Robert-Jan Broer May 11, 2020 Brand of the Month

Forstner Bands: An Astronaut Favorite Available Again

(Re)Introducing the “Komfit” mesh watch band that once adorned the wrists of astronauts Partner Content April 13, 2020

Hands-On

Grand Seiko SBGR053 And SBGR253 — The 37mm Brand Entry-Point

Guest post by Thor Svaboe by Fratello May 12, 2020

Hands-On: Norqain Adventure Sport Automatic N1000

What happens if watch industry vets start a brand? by Robert-Jan Broer May 07, 2020

The Grand Seiko SBGP007 Is A Stunning Tribute To The Brand Itself

Turning 60 never seemed so appealing… by Rob Nudds May 04, 2020

Popular

Introducing: The New Seiko Astron GPS Solar 5X series (Live Pictures)

by Robert-Jan Broer October 12, 2018

Speedy Tuesday – Omega Speedmaster Professional 145.022 Buyer’s Guide Part 1

by Robert-Jan Broer September 18, 2018

Omega Speedmaster Hodinkee 10th Anniversary Limited Edition

by Robert-Jan Broer September 05, 2018 Robert-Jan Broer

About the author

Robert-Jan Broer

Ever since he was a young child, Robert-Jan was drawn to watches, even though it were digital Casio and quartz Swatch models at the time. In the mid-1990s, his interest increased when he started to read about mechanical watches in… read more

Watch reviews in your inbox.

Even when it’s not Speedy Tuesday.Original Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *